Comp is restarting by itself ?!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2004, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to daserb
Question Comp is restarting by itself ?!?

I have a WIN XP home. When I start comp, when the "WELCOME" screen comes up, it restarts by it self. I have no idea what is it. I also tried 2 boot from network but it is not working.

COMP INFO:
CPU: Intel® Celeron® D 340 Processor
Operates at 2.93 GHz
256KB L2 cache & 533 MHz FSB
Operating System: Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition 1
Chipset: Intel 845GV Chipset
Memory: 512 MB DDR (PC 2700)
Expandable to 2 GB
Hard Drive: 80 GB HDD 2

PLZ help me ?!?


Thanks
__________________

daserb is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to b_young86 Send a message via Yahoo to b_young86
Default

You should boot from the CD (XP Home setup) and then when you are running, it will say something about press R for repair mode. Press R and then you should eventually see the DOS prompt load. Type in chkdsk and that should take care of any problems. Anything else, IM my on AIM - DJMADDOGFREAK
__________________

__________________
Laptop:
AMD Athlon 64 bit 3000+
1.25 Gigs 2700 DDR
460 Gigs Hard Drive
1 - 15.4\"Widescreen LCD
1 - 17\" LCD

Phone:
HP iPAQ hw6515 with 1.5 Gigs of storage
b_young86 is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 10:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Comp is restarting by itself ?!?

[QUOTE]Originally posted by daserb
[B]I have a WIN XP home. When I start comp, when the "WELCOME" screen comes up, it restarts by it self. I have no idea what is it. I also tried 2 boot from network but it is not working.

COMP INFO:
CPU: Intel® Celeron® D 340 Processor
Operates at 2.93 GHz
256KB L2 cache & 533 MHz FSB
Operating System: Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition 1
Chipset: Intel 845GV Chipset
Memory: 512 MB DDR (PC 2700)
Expandable to 2 GB
Hard Drive: 80 GB HDD 2

PLZ help me ?!?

check your boot screen and see if you have enough ram loading
derrmc is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to daserb
Default I solved the problem...

I started comp in safe mode and then did like this
:
START - ALL PROGRAMS - CONTROL PANEL - SYSTEM - ADVANCED-STARTUP AND RECOVERY SETUP - (uncheck all 3 boxes under System Failure)

thanks for helping
daserb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.