Comp. has random shutdowns, can it be my os? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default Comp. has random shutdowns, can it be my os?

Hello, i recently built a computer. I have windows xp on my computer and my computer has reallly random shutdowns. It says going to sleep, then resets. just like if you shut it offf and on.Can anyone help?
__________________

PuMpKaN is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

try this

right click my computer, go to properties advanced click settings on the bottom in the startup and recovery window untick the box under system failure, automatically restart.

there could be some insignificant service thats failing causing ur comp to reboot
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

alrite, thanks did it. Ill check back if it re-boots again.
__________________
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic 8 (7.1)
HITACHI Deskstar 250GB 7200 RPM
OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 1GB (2 x 512MB)
SONY Black IDE DVD Burner
Antec NEOPOWER 480 ATX 480W
PuMpKaN is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

oh and since you know some stuff, some of my pages have huge text on them, but if im on another computer, they are the right size???What can i do
__________________
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic 8 (7.1)
HITACHI Deskstar 250GB 7200 RPM
OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 1GB (2 x 512MB)
SONY Black IDE DVD Burner
Antec NEOPOWER 480 ATX 480W
PuMpKaN is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

try holding down ctrl and scrolling
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

wow, so hard, yet so easy...
thanks man.
__________________
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic 8 (7.1)
HITACHI Deskstar 250GB 7200 RPM
OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 1GB (2 x 512MB)
SONY Black IDE DVD Burner
Antec NEOPOWER 480 ATX 480W
PuMpKaN is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

If u leave ur comp on all nite leave summin open so you'll know if it reboots.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

yea i dont turn it off, so ill do that.
__________________
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic 8 (7.1)
HITACHI Deskstar 250GB 7200 RPM
OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 1GB (2 x 512MB)
SONY Black IDE DVD Burner
Antec NEOPOWER 480 ATX 480W
PuMpKaN is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 11:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

I left it on last night, and it went to a new screen, IT was blue and it said something like it has had an error and it neeed to shut down to prevent a serous error.
__________________

__________________
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic 8 (7.1)
HITACHI Deskstar 250GB 7200 RPM
OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 1GB (2 x 512MB)
SONY Black IDE DVD Burner
Antec NEOPOWER 480 ATX 480W
PuMpKaN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.