communications folder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2004, 09:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default communications folder

Just wondering guys how do you uninstall and reinstall communications folder win win2k and winxp... is there a valid document for these? thanks for the replies
__________________

zaldy12 is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

??? I'm confused. Care to elaborate, what folder and where is it? are you talking about the start menu folder? cause that is just a bunch of pointers in there...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

hmmm, in win98 and winme... you can uncheck the communications or dial up networking under add/programs windows set up window right?... how do you go about doing it in win2k and xp... the main issue is error 720 in dial up...modem is fine, line is fine, access numbers are good... latest thing i did is uninstall and reinstall tcp/ip and microsoft for clients networks... but still didn't go through... so the next step will be refreshing my communications/dial up networking folder...
zaldy12 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

I'm still a bit confused as to what you mean by that certain folder.

Whenever I have issues with networking that simple tweaking won't fix, I just uninstall and re-install the drivers for the card.

In an extreme case, I'll move it to the next PCI slot within the comp.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 01:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

ok, so you want to reinstall the Windows compoenets for Networking and dialup? is that right? if that is the case, then uninstall your hardware, and remove all of the pieces from the Network connections properties of the Dialup connection. You also will need to delete all of the dialup connections and start over. I'm still not sure what you are trying to accomplish here, but If refreshing the communications drivers is about right, win2k and XP have all the built in, and so it's not really possible unless you do a SFC (system file check) and restore everything to the release level.
anyway, check this link and see if it helps you...

http://help.expedient.com/dialup/dun720.shtml
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 03:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

thanks for the replies guys... i'll give it a try thanks again
__________________

zaldy12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.