command line - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2005, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default command line

how do you change the messenger startup setting from disabled to automatic through the command line.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

can't. you have to change it to manual in the control panel before you can change it on the cmd line.

services.msc
change setting. Then use cmd for the rest...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

so if i want to start the messenger service on about 100 machines the only way to do this is to walk around to each computer and start it manually. That is the most retarded thing microsoft could have done.
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 12:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

if you have AD you can do it though GPO.

right click the OU, goto properties, click group policy tab, click new, give it a name, click edit, set the services settings as you would on a local pc, close gpedit. run gpupdate from the command line
office politics is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

you can also write a script in VBS or perl to do it too. You asked how on the command line. if you have domain, then you should have said so.
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

sorry yes on a domain. Alright well i finally got it. I did what csamuels suggested (thanks for that) I then also had to edit the logon script. The two lines i had to add were:
"gpupdate /force" --- It did not work everytime until i added the /force switch to it.
"net start messenger" ---This actaully starts the service

thanks everyone for your help.
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Group policy will automatically refresh on reboot as well. Unless your refresh interval is missconfigured.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

« firewall | CD's »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.