Color Quality Settings in XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2006, 06:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to topherus
Default Color Quality Settings in XP

Just installed XP, and in Display Properties, under Color Quality, my only choice is lowest (4-bit). My graphics card is nVidia G-Force 200 2MX with a Gateway EV910 monitor - both are XP compatable. All XP drivers were downloaded from the manufacturers. It's interesting that the nVidia nView Desktop Manager icon in Control Panel doesn't open the configuration program. Clicking the icon does nothing. I'm getting headaches; it's like I'm looking through a screen door!
Oh, and btw, in Safe Mode, the Color Quality is set at 32-bit and the graphics are outstanding. Wish I could have this setting available in Normal Mode. Can anyone help?

K6-2 500 MHz Motherboard
Via MVP3 chipset
384 SDRAM
__________________

topherus is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what does the device manager say about it?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to topherus
Default

Device Manager shows no conflicts (except for an LPT1 problem).
Under Display, the correct driver is installed and it shows no conflicts. Windows should have installed the correct driver on initial installation which I believe it did, but I decided to get nVidia's. Consequently, the same problem. Something is screwing it up since the Color Quality is 32-bit in Safe Mode. I just don't know where else to look. Any diagnostic programs out there that might give me answers?
topherus is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 12:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 183
Default

You can try uninstalling the driver then removing the video card from device manager and then rebooting and let it find it again.

How about a driver rollback from device manager?
wasisnt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.