Codec trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 08:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Codec trouble

My divx and mpeg video's stopped working. They are either black or extremely dark. I already uninstalled/reinstalled DivX. How do I fix this?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 08:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I'm trying WMP 10 now.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I checked with Sherlock and everything seems to be alright. But my video's don't work.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 08:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

WMP 10 didn't work either. I tried Nim Codec Pack and some other packs. Nothing works.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

I usually don't even read threads by you, i figure if you have a problem no way i could even understand it.

however i have a few guesses... (they are probably wrong, sorry)
1. Make sure your settings are adjusted
2. Go to start -> control panel -> display -> settings -> advanced -> refresh frequency
3. Update your video card
4. Did you recently get the sp2?
5. Run around in circles like a chicken with its head cut off (might work never know)
6. Open your hardware device manager and make sure there are not "!" next to the video card.
7. These videos aren't downloaded are they?
8. Make sure they aren't zipped

PS
sorry that wasn't that great...
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

I am assuming you have tried the DivX Player? None of my DivX movies work in Windows Media, but all of them do in DivX Player.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 08:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://www.matroska.org/

http://www.matroska.org/downloads/windows.html

download the full pack and it make Wmp play as many files as Wm classic.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 06:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
I usually don't even read threads by you, i figure if you have a problem no way i could even understand it.

however i have a few guesses... (they are probably wrong, sorry)
1. Make sure your settings are adjusted
2. Go to start -> control panel -> display -> settings -> advanced -> refresh frequency
3. Update your video card
4. Did you recently get the sp2?
5. Run around in circles like a chicken with its head cut off (might work never know)
6. Open your hardware device manager and make sure there are not "!" next to the video card.
7. These videos aren't downloaded are they?
8. Make sure they aren't zipped

PS
sorry that wasn't that great...
1. What settings?
2. Should be fine/not make any difference.
3. I have the latest drivers.
4. Nope.
5. I tried, but didn't help. J/k
6. Everything looks fine.
7. No, they are home-video's, if you know what I mean.
8. LoL.

Thanks for your suggestions. I'm not in the mood to try anything rightnow, but will downaod the stuff Eric suggested when I have time. (DivX Playa didn't work either)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 12:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I thnk I fixed it. I installed Xvid and DivX and MediaPlayer Classic and it seems to work now.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

kazaa lite codec will install everything out there. search it on google.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.