cmd.exe doesn't work - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2004, 09:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Quote:
On a side note, to get any application to run from the command menu, i have to add it's executable in the system32 folder?
MvD,

Its not like that. You can have executable files in any path and run them from the prompt. All you need is to setup 'path' in the environment variables.
So if you have 'abc.exe' in 'c:\folder1' , then adding the path 'c:\folder' to the system variables will allow you to run it anywhere from the prompt.

Here's a link to change,add variables ...[ for XP]
http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d..._variable.mspx

__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 12:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
MvD
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Default

So I have to path ever command there is? All I've got in the variables list is TEM and TEMP folders....
__________________

MvD is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 02:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MvD
So I have to path ever command there is? All I've got in the variables list is TEM and TEMP folders....
nah, you want to add the folders that hold the executables to the path statement. Typically c:\windows;c:\windows\system32;c:\windows\command

What happens is when you enter the command in cmd, the system looks for the executable you entered in the folder you ran it from. Then it checks each folder in the path statement for the exe. If it doesn't find the executable, it reports the error.

you'll want to click the new button to create a new variable and name it path
office politics is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 03:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Hmm...that is pretty wierd. Are any other commands working other than "ping"? If so, you might just have to suck it up and get used to not pinging with command prompt.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 03:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
MvD
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by csamuels
nah, you want to add the folders that hold the executables to the path statement. Typically c:\windows;c:\windows\system32;c:\windows\command

What happens is when you enter the command in cmd, the system looks for the executable you entered in the folder you ran it from. Then it checks each folder in the path statement for the exe. If it doesn't find the executable, it reports the error.

you'll want to click the new button to create a new variable and name it path
Wow thanks, it seems the path command has stolen by GTK for windows, wtf? Why would it need to do this? And Gtk isn't spyware or anything....
MvD is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 03:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

some apps will try to append their folders path to the path statement so they can use relative addreses, just like your doing with ping
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.