Cloning WinXP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default Cloning WinXP

I have tried making an unattended copy of my WinXP CD but after adding SP2/Latest Hotfix's/SATA Drivers/GPU Drivers/Mobo Drivers etc etc etc it has ended up taking alot longer to install the OS.

Normal OS= Approx15=20mins
Unattended copy= 1-1.5hours

I was thinking it would be better to install a copy of WinXP with all the things i need and then clone it to a spare HDD so when i want/need to reinstall my OS it would still only take 15-20 mins to transfer the files.

What would be the best Way/Program to do this cloning process.

Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Make an image using Norton Ghost 9.0
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 12:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Do you know of a site where i can get a trial version of this program, i tried a search but couldn't find it.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

edit
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 02:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.binaryresearch.net/produc...tec_ghost2.htm
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 02:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

*Off Topic* - Sigs from danasoft.com that display a users IP address are not allowed here.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
Ill be online later...

\/
huh?

I would agree to though I use Norton Ghost and it works awesome. Although I think some people were having issues with SATA drives. I have only used it on IDE drives so perhaps a SATA ghost user can comment on that. Well worth the money.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 02:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

I was just going to send you a link, but i had to go so i thought id give you it later
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
huh?

I would agree to though I use Norton Ghost and it works awesome. Although I think some people were having issues with SATA drives. I have only used it on IDE drives so perhaps a SATA ghost user can comment on that. Well worth the money.
Yeah i wanted to do my install on my SATA drive and then clone it to a IDE drive (My thinking was all SATA files would be installed and cloned to IDE).

Can anyone else who has used Norton Ghost with a SATA HDD share some info, Any problems/Any Fixes.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Yes I am interested as well. The only reason I have concern is due to what I have read from peoples problems with SATA and ghost. Maybe I will try it at work for my own personal knowledge.

I also have concern cause I had problmes ghosting from a external USB drive to an IDE drive. I have personally NEVER had a problem with IDE to IDE operations or CD/DVD to IDE operations however I should experiment with newer technologies
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.