Client computers not showing up on WSUS server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2005, 01:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default Client computers not showing up on WSUS server

I recently installed WSUS on a Windows 2003 server. I setup a group policy for the client workstations to point to this wsus server to get their updates. I am noticing that out of the 20 worksations I have in that OU only about 6 is showing up in the Computers section of the WSUS management module. Could it be that only the computers that have been updated by this WSUS would show up or is it that the wsus is supposed to automatically detect all the computers in the OU that is designated to contact it?
__________________

systadmin17 is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

Are all your PC's WinXPsp2? Have you done a group policy update?
__________________

__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 06:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Also is the XPSP2 firewall disabled?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

a few commands you can try:
start-> run->cmd
wuauclt /update
wuauclt /detect
__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

you will need to have each machine logged off and then back on again to enforce the policy on them as well.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks everyone for your help. The problem was that the McAfee Anti-Virus we have running on all our clients was blocking port 80 thus preventing the updates from going through. We enabled port 80 , the updates went through and the client machines are now up on the WSUS computer management module.

Thanks again for your suggestions.
__________________

systadmin17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.