Cleaning Inside - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2005, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Default Cleaning Inside

Here's an easy question. What is the best cloth or rag used to clean the inside of the computer? I have a computer that is over five years old with over five years of dust. Thanks for your help.
__________________

newbienthehouse is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Canned pressurized air (read the directions) and lint free cloths.

That's what you need.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 09:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Default

Would a vacuum with a brush reak havick?
newbienthehouse is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Vacumes create static electricity, so no unless you want a door-stop. Take the advice Trotter offered, you can pick those up almost anywhere for under 5 bucks.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Yup. Canned air (pressurized, of course).
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 04:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I like to go with just the hose from my backyard. And if I a few extra bucks ill go rent one of those pressure washers from home depot.

no just kiddin go with the air....

CoConut....
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

btw, if you can't find a lint free cloth, glass's clothes are lint free.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

A nice little soft 1 inch brush come's in handy too for that dust that's caked on.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.