clean install with xp home upgrade cd? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2003, 08:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Default clean install with xp home upgrade cd?

I want (need) to do a clean install of win xp home, problem is that I've got an upgrade cd of xp, and when I start the insallation of xp it asks for a cd of win 98 or other product that gives me the right to install xp. But don't have a cd with 98 me or 2000 lying around here. so is there a way to install xp without "showing"xp that cd??

hardball is offline  
Old 06-11-2003, 09:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="" target="_blank"><img src="" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

Not that I know of. You will need to prove you own a previous version of windows.

\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 06-11-2003, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84

Sometimes the product key from 98 is taped onto the side of the machine--thi s should be what you need....
...cos we\'re the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Old 06-13-2003, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469

Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
microsoftne is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 03:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Question questionz

ok has anyone you know at all got any windows install CD's? cos you will need at least one previous operating system, I don't think it would be illegal to just have an operating system for maybe half an hour so you can install XP.
anyway how long have you had your computer, if its older than XP wouldn't it have come with another operating system?
when you install XP you will need the internet to register

do you know what i had to do last night (date 13th June), bakup all user profiles to a folder, install windows 98 for 10 minutes, then install winXP home upgrade then get all the settings back and have the whole computer up and running like it used to including broadband internet and it only took about 3 hours. by the way our computer is 4 years old, came with 98 and its still got excess performance for XP and all its enhancements
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.