Choose operating system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2004, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Choose operating system

Hi, I think you can help me to decide:

I've got "new" computer few days ago. It is pentium 3, 550Mhz; 10Gb hard drive; 196Mb SDRAM; Nvidia Vanta 32Mb video card.
My previous computer wa celeron 433Mhz with 128Mb SDRAM and 16Mb video card. I've recieved this (P3) computer with windows XP on it and it work's very slow and annoying, so I tryed to run Windows 98SE on it' and it works like a dream.

But I think that maybe it will be useful to upgrade to Windows 2000 (or ME). But I don't know if all the things will work correctly on it, and I also don't know if it will run good on my comp. And also, tell me if you can, if it really worth to do this at all.

Maybe you have any ideas about all this stuff.
Thank you anyway.

smartech is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 03:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504

stick with windows 98. It will be buggy but at least it will run quickly. Im not sure if it could handle 2000 well , but definately dont get ME. I would use 98se any day of the week before i used ME. I wouldnt spend your money on 2000 if you already have 98SE and it works.

<img src = \"\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 03:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to bad-dog

Whatever you do, DO NOT PUT ME you can try put 2000 and see if it works fine but ME is so buggy DON'T TRY IT EVER.
PC Specifications
Dual Boot
Windows XP Professional
Windows Server 2003
Antec 550W
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.8 HT 800FSB Prescott OC to 3.1
Samsung 512 x 2 PC3200 (Dual Channel)
ASUS FX5600 Video Suite
LG Combo x16/52x32x52
LG 19\" Professional Series
bad-dog is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech

Money isn't needed for it, I already have Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XPpro discs, so just tell what you think I should install.
By the way maby, if it can help any system to work, I can buy additional 256Mb of ram.
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.