chkdsk /r takes forever! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default chkdsk /r takes forever!

I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop that I'm working on here.

First of all, it was getting a "Disk unreadable error" or whatever and wouldn't boot. So, I tried to repair the OS, but the filesystem was unrecognizable. I decided to run chkdsk. I ran chkdsk /p and it said something about errors being detected and am now running chkdsk /r and it was at 50% for like 30 minutes and it's been at 51% for the past 30 minutes. HDD led lights up every once in awhile. Is this normal?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Ok well I tried a chkdsk /p /r. I got to about 52% and then it said:

The volume appears to contain one or more unrecoverable problems.

Is this hard drive toast?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 05:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Did you remove the partitions/format?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Did you remove the partitions/format?
I didn't remove any partitions or anything. It has like the 3 default partitions that Dells come with. One is for the OS, I think one is for Media Direct, and I'm not sure what the other one is for. The other two are either FAT or FAT32 I think.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

do fdisk and see what fdisk sees the partition as. Don't delete them or anything, just see what it sees it as. I have the feeling it is seeing it as unknown type. Did you install anything like linux duel boot or maybe something like goback (backup utilities).
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 05:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
do fdisk and see what fdisk sees the partition as. Don't delete them or anything, just see what it sees it as. I have the feeling it is seeing it as unknown type. Did you install anything like linux duel boot or maybe something like goback (backup utilities).
At first, it was showing the OS filesystem as unknown until I ran chkdsk in the recovery console. Now it shows as NTFS, but still isn't booting. Nothing has ever been tampered with on this hard drive. All original OS straight from Dell.

The kid does have a fair share of porn and **** like that, so I wonder if he got a virus. I was able to still see all the documents and stuff when I booted it with Knoppix.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.