Check disc problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2003, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Default Check disc problem

Hi,
I'm running XP Pro on a 1.2Ghz machine with two hard drives. The problem is with the D: drive which is the slave drive. XP wants to do a check on it at start up. It goes through the files and folders verification alright but when it starts the checking for free space it just runs forever. I have to re-start and cancel the disc check when it boots up. I have tried to run the chkdsk/f from the command prompt but it says that it can't unmount the drive because it is in use.......
Any suggestions on how I can solve this, short of reformatting the hard drive which is 80gigs.
Thanks,
__________________

Grill is offline  
Old 09-25-2003, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

When booting your machine, try entering into "Safe Mode with command prompt" or just "Safe Mode". After booting in whichever mode go to your command prompt and try running your chkdsk command again. This time use the following command:
CHKDSK /X/F/R

This will force a dismount of the drive (safely) and then perform the checks that you would like to commit.

Reformatting would be totally unnecessary.....

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-25-2003, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Default

It wouldn't finish the boot, it hangs on a Mup.sys file or that is the last file on the scroll. Had to hit the reset button now it wants to check both drives....
Thanks for the help though.
Grill is offline  
Old 09-25-2003, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Quick question: Is your slave HDD formatted in FAT32? If so, try converting it to NTFS using the convert command. Type
help convert, to see the settings. The reason to do it this way, is this way you can look and decide for yourself what settings you want applied

When you get into windows, convert the other drives to NTFS if they are FAT32.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 09-25-2003, 06:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Default

Yeah, their both FAT 32.
Doing the convert thing won't mess up the contents of the drive will it? If it won't then I'll give this a shot.
Thanks!
Grill is offline  
Old 09-25-2003, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Shouldn't mess up anything.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 09-25-2003, 09:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Default

What is the advantage of converting to the NTFS structure?
Grill is offline  
Old 09-26-2003, 08:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Default

Follow Up:
Thanks to all for the help and suggestions.
I converted the D:\ to NTFS. On boot up it wanted to check C:\ so I let it and it did not find any problems. It didn't try to check D:. Everything is fine..... for now


Thanks again!
Grill is offline  
Old 10-04-2003, 01:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Thats awesome. I'm glad it worked.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.