Changing Win Xp OEM Number - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2004, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Changing Win Xp OEM Number

Just completed a private software audit on one of our small business customers.

In the end, it turned out that they have a few too many Win Xp Pro boxes that they have actual lienses. It turns out that they has one of there ex-employees that was stealing things from the business, and it looks like he has pocketed Windows XP CD's with Manuals.

But the customer has just purchased the new lienceses for these computers, but we would like to know how we go about changing the Serial Number so that it matches up with the actual lienceses.
(So it's one less thing to explain to the BSSA if they pop by)

Now we could format the harddrive and re-install the OS. But that would mean there is a lot of screwing around of backing up and remembering setting, blah blah blah.....

Or there is go old REG-EDIT. I know how do to do this with Win 9x, NT, 2k. But how do we go about it in Win Xp?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-08-2004, 11:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Doesn't matter. As long as you have proof that you have purchased the amount of user licences for the amount of PCs that you have then you are fine. In theory, you can purchase 10 PC licences for Windows 2000 (just an example) and then just open one of the licences and install the same one on all of the PCs. As long as you have proof of purchase that cover your users...you're fine.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 03:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

How to change the Windows XP Product Activation Key Code
http://labmice.techtarget.com/window...s/changeID.htm

i would also read the MS link at the very bottom on Scripting the process: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=328874
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 04:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

A quick fast easy way is to download this free tool...It also has neat little goodies thats a must!!

http://www.snapfiles.com/get/rockxp.html

It is called rockxp.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Groovin' has it right on the button!

no need to fret,,just have all the licensed copies filed.

As for a product,, look up something called "magic Jelly Bean"

It will find your activation key,, and allow you to change it to a new one,,, clikity clik!

cheers
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.