Changing widows Cd Key - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2004, 01:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Question Changing widows Cd Key

Hello,

i need to change my windows cd key so i can install sp2, i have my new key, but i dont wont to formatt to change it, any other ways i can change my windows cdkey ?
__________________

__________________
http://i.1asphost.com/Cur3/desa_Voxx013_sig.jpg
Asus A7N8X-X
Amd Athlon 2400+
GeXcube Radeon 9600 XT Xtreme (overclocked)
King Max 512 (3200)
Maxtor 80gig
Maxtor 20gig
SamSung 52x32x52 CD-RW
Thermaltake 480wtt
Coolmaster Jet7+
Voxx.013 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

um, why on earth do you need a new/different key to install SP2?
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Default

beats me, im getting a error for some reason, sorry man but i wouldnt of psoted if i ne what was going on.. thats what i dont understand LOL
__________________
http://i.1asphost.com/Cur3/desa_Voxx013_sig.jpg
Asus A7N8X-X
Amd Athlon 2400+
GeXcube Radeon 9600 XT Xtreme (overclocked)
King Max 512 (3200)
Maxtor 80gig
Maxtor 20gig
SamSung 52x32x52 CD-RW
Thermaltake 480wtt
Coolmaster Jet7+
Voxx.013 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Well, what does the error say, word for word, and maybe someone else on this forum can help you. I'm sorry if I sounded snobby or something, I just have never heard of anyone needing to change something that drastic to install SP2.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Default

yer man nither, thats why i came straight hear. and dw about its cool, thanks for replying anwyays :P
__________________
http://i.1asphost.com/Cur3/desa_Voxx013_sig.jpg
Asus A7N8X-X
Amd Athlon 2400+
GeXcube Radeon 9600 XT Xtreme (overclocked)
King Max 512 (3200)
Maxtor 80gig
Maxtor 20gig
SamSung 52x32x52 CD-RW
Thermaltake 480wtt
Coolmaster Jet7+
Voxx.013 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Yeah, this place is great, stay here a while even after you get your problem fixed, it's a great place to learn about everything computers.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Default

yer .

thats what i plan on doing, besides, when do computers ever just work perfectly, theres always on little rob along the way :P
__________________
http://i.1asphost.com/Cur3/desa_Voxx013_sig.jpg
Asus A7N8X-X
Amd Athlon 2400+
GeXcube Radeon 9600 XT Xtreme (overclocked)
King Max 512 (3200)
Maxtor 80gig
Maxtor 20gig
SamSung 52x32x52 CD-RW
Thermaltake 480wtt
Coolmaster Jet7+
Voxx.013 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

What does the phrase "on little rob along the way" mean? I don't think I've heard that here in the US. And what time is it there? It's like 1:37 a.m. here. And yeah, computers are never super reliable anyways.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Changing widows Cd Key

Quote:
Originally posted by Voxx.013
Hello,

i need to change my windows cd key so i can install sp2, i have my new key, but i dont wont to formatt to change it, any other ways i can change my windows cdkey ?
if you want something unreliable, install sp2. you are better off without the key change
derrmc is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

by the way how do you like that xppro corp.?
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.