Changing Username on Start Menu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2004, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Question Changing Username on Start Menu

How would I change the user name in the top of the Start Menu. I would like to ADD my computername to me UserName. So, I can see something like "%UserName% is on %ComputerName%" at the top of the Start Menu.
__________________

1veryrede is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Assuming you have Windows XP,

You would go to the Control Panel > Users.

Click on the User you would like to edit and "Change User Name".

Unfortunately, I don't think Windows XP will allow you to use the Computer name as a user name.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default

I have many users running WinXp. When they call for tech support. I need there computer name...To remote into their pc. I is a pain to walk 50 users day through going their computer name. I would like to know if there is a way to get their computer name to display next to their User Name. At the top of the Start Menu. I have found a way to display this info, instead of the "My Computer" under the My Computer icon on the desktop. But, my company feels that would just confuse our some of our Novice Users.
1veryrede is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 45
Default

1veryrede
you can put the computer name next to the user name in the top of the start menu.
what you do is:
1- go to control panel
2- double click the administrative tools
3- double click computer management
4- click on the local group and users
5- double click on users
6- right click on the user name
7- click rename
8- click at the end of the user name, space, type the computer name and pres enter
9- restart the computer and when the user click the start button they will see their user name and the computer name. for example: look at my snapshot it has the user name and the computer name. i hope this is what you talking about
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rockyarms03ii-1.jpg (31.3 KB, 258 views)
__________________
\"Want to make your computer go really fast? Throw it out a window.\"
XRAYZ is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 09:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Try something simple like labeling the outside of the box with the machine name.

Or if they can, have them type the %computername% variable in the run menu.



You will see this message (or something similar) the computer name is in two places, on the top (blue bar) and inside the 'single quotation marks'.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bypass.zip (26.7 KB, 12 views)
HoLoCroN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.