Changing system drive letter - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 07:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
MvD
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Default Changing system drive letter

While building my new box, I was unlucky enough to have the drive with my windows installation named E:\ (I think because one of the drives was SATA and other IDE). While this is not that big of a pain, I would still like to know if it is possible to somehow change the 'system' drive letter. I tried doing it with Partition Magic, but it said that it's risky to change the drive letter of a partition with your windows installation on it. Is there any safe way to overcome this problem?
__________________

MvD is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 08:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

It is risky no matter which way you do it but it is doable with partition magic or disk management
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 09:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
MvD
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Default

hmm, any suggestion on the risks involved and possible ways to minimize them? Ignoring thing like backup, thats already done....
MvD is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 09:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you cant do it in disk management
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The best and safest way is to re-install.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 105
Default

i think that is kinda stupid like computers why would it be so hard to change a drive letter? wtf ?
armyofswiss is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 07:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

i usually just reinstall
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 09:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE:

Yea.. When i had to change my drive letters, I went under Disk Managment and click on the drive and renamed it to a diff. letter.. It didnt screw up n e thing on mine..
cyclones is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 10:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

and you just had 1 drive and you renamed it while in windows? i dont see how.....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 10:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Partitions that are marked as (System) such as C: in the 1st picture cannot have their drive letter changed. Also do not change the drive letters of partition containing installed software or operating systems.

__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.