changing hardware could possibly affect my OS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2010, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default changing hardware could possibly affect my OS?

Hey all,

I am in the process of upgrading some hardware, e.g. mobo, psu etc.

I am worried bcuz my comp is a prebuilt with OS preinstalled. I do not have a disc for the OS.
Will i lose and have to reformat my HDD when i install new mobo? What can I do to not lose my data and OS, if anything at all?
thank you
__________________

mattk1045 is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,512
Default Re: changing hardware could possibly affect my OS?

If you have XP...you'll need to perform a repair install.

If you have Vista or 7...you'll have to reinstall.

Either way, you're going to need an OS disc.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 07-28-2010, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: changing hardware could possibly affect my OS?

ok thanks. Anything I can do to save my data on HDD from being lost?
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 09:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: changing hardware could possibly affect my OS?

Well you will have to make backups first. Also you need to go into the topic entitled Read First and look up about OEM versus Retail. The serials provided with the pre-built machines are OEM and can NOT be transferred to a new machine. So you will have to budget for the purchase of a new OS as well. As you wont be able to use the one you currently have.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 10:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: changing hardware could possibly affect my OS?

after I read that thread you suggested I just want to make sure of 1 thing. This system im going to upgrade I might be making multiple changes over a period of time. So with that said and from what I read I should be looking for a retail version of windows? Or as long as I keep my mobo the same I can change CPU and still keep the OEM version?
Please clarify. Thanks
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: changing hardware could possibly affect my OS?

If you change mobo's then you will need to get a new copy of Windows if you purchase OEM. According to Microsoft, a new mobo equals a new PC. With OEM's they are tied to the mobo. So if you keep that mobo and just change CPU's then you can get OEM with no issue at all.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: changing hardware could possibly affect my OS?

cool thanks for all the help mak **** REP****
__________________

mattk1045 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open Hardware Monitor Displays Realtime Information About The Computer Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 02-23-2010 12:32 PM
Audio hardware acceleration? AntonOle Computer Audio and Multimedia 18 11-18-2008 03:55 AM
WinXP - new hardware wizard keeps reappearing with wireless mouse comradec Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 12:17 AM
**READ FIRST** Hardware Stickies Index Trotter System Upgrades 0 05-05-2007 10:12 AM
**READ FIRST** Hardware Stickies Index Trotter New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-05-2007 10:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.