changing the default look of a windows file-folder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2005, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default changing the default look of a windows file-folder

WITHOGHT A PROGRAM! Im sick of all this bs that these programs give me. there has got to be the source graphic for a simple file folder .ico somewhere!!!! where may it be? can i change it with another .ico file? I want to change the look of every folder all at once, you know, I want to change the source graphic, whatever you call it...
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You can change any .ico w/ another .ico
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

ok, I get that, just like replacing any file with the same name file, but where is the "shell" (maybe its called that) file for what im talking about located???
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

system32 i believe ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

its definatly a possibility. but the other thing is that there are like several of the same. how do i know which is the one?
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 03:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

This might help you a bit:
http://www.shelllabs.com/change_icons.htm
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 03:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

thanks, but i dont want a program, i shouldnt need a program. i especially dont want a program that wants me to pay money for it.
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 12:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

are you talkin about folder icons or folder background image?
the shell32.dll contains all the system icons and much more graphical **** in it. as far as the folder background image its in windows or system32 directory and for windows 98-2000 theres an image for the web view too also in system directory
but as far as icons go most of it is in the registry
heres the link

http://www.virtualplastic.net/html/icn_reg.html

theres also a free program that lets u change icons but i forgot the change just look for it
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 12:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

but the easier way i just realised is to go to folder options and select "advanced" on file folder and change the icon from there without any tools
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 01:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

no not backrounds. and it sounds like, if I want to change the look of all of them, the best way would be shell32.dll
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.