changing default login HELP ME !!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2004, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default changing default login HELP ME !!!!!

my computer is setup to login when the computer starts up on an account that is no longer exisent. but it still trys to login and it takes 10 minutes for it to stop trying and then i can log in on another account. but its too much waiting anytime i start my pc.

does anyone know how to remove this setting. i dont want it to try to log on to any account. when i turn i my computer i want it to go straight to the welcome screen so then i can pick the account i want to use

im running windows xp pro but started out 2000 pro
__________________

drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

open the user account manager by running nusrmgr.cpl. You should be able to change the config there so you can log on normally...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

ive tried that before but i dont think im doing the right thing. either im not seing what i need to do or i need to do something else

can anyone talk me through in more detail
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 06:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

have you tried hitting Start Run control userpasswords(2 if in XP), and clicking on the "Users must logon to this computer" button?
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 07:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

no i havent could you give me more details on how to find that i got lost in your directions
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.