Change partition letter to the default letter - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 11:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
I know you cant but you can if there was a different drive and not the master drive that the os is on
I tried it before on a partition that I wan't using. it wouldn't move it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zillah
EricB,,both partitions have got OS,,,Deletin partition means delete one OS,,,,,,Do I need to delete one OS ?
yes or it will reference every as D drive. you can use Partition Magic's drive mapper you can change it, but it is too complicated this way

you boot with the PM disc. you hide the C drive. you then move D to C. use drive mapper to change all references to C from D
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I just changed mine from D to I
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
I just changed mine from D to I
yes, you can do that. try changing it to C
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Re: Change partition letter to the default letter

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Yea, you can do that to the main drive...its gotta be a slave, etc

this is how you do it but you cant do it...im not for sure what would happen if you add one....

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q307844

I meant to say Can't here, not can, thats the confusion
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Re: Re: Change partition letter to the default letter

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
I meant to say Can't here, not can, thats the confusion
oh ok, I gotcha
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
yes or it will reference every as D drive. you can use Partition Magic's drive mapper you can change it, but it is too complicated this way
Is the answer "Yes" to delete partition or for hiding,,,or your mean hide is same as delete ?


Quote:
you boot with the PM disc. you hide the C drive. you then move D to C. use drive mapper to change all references to C from D
I have to hide first partition and change the letter for the second.

Then I have to hide the second partition and change the letter for the first ,,,,then I can boot to any one of them with any problem?
zillah is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:13 AM   #18 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zillah
Is the answer "Yes" to delete partition or for hiding,,,or your mean hide is same as delete ?



I have to hide first partition and change the letter for the second.

Then I have to hide the second partition and change the letter for the first ,,,,then I can boot to any one of them with any problem?
1.delete
2. yes

1 and 2 are different ways of doing it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.