Change which hard drive boots - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2007, 02:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 272
Default Change which hard drive boots

I have 2 hard drives, (1 IDE and 1 SATA) that both have a copy of XP installed. Currently, the computer boots to the IDE, but I want to be able to boot the SATA instead, without losing any data on either of the drives. The IDE drive doesn't need to be bootable anymore so could it be as simple as just erasing the MBR or something so that the SATA is forced to boot?
__________________

Blizzard596 is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 137
Default

Check your boot options in your bios. You should be able to change the boot priority so that the SATA drive is checked for an OS first.
__________________

Lorithad is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 272
Default

I already checked that and the only hard drive option is "Hard Drive". I don't see an option to choose between multiple hard drives.
Blizzard596 is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Set your IDE jumper to slave.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

nvm, wrong idea
are you sure the SATA is enabled
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 272
Default

nvm I found it. There was an advanced section in the bios for sata drives. I think it'll work fine now. Thanks anyway for the help.
Blizzard596 is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

make sure the boot info for the sata is on the sata. usually it will default to the c ide drive if it is connected
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 03:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

If it doesn't boot:

Disconnect all disks except the Windows harddisk. Load the XP CD-ROM (select boot from CD-ROM in BIOS). Enter recovery console (press R after it finished loading). Type fixmbr. Then fixboot. Type exit. Shutdown. Hook up all disks, configure BIOS to boot from the Windows hard disk, reboot.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.