Change Domain name - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2005, 07:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Talking Change Domain name

hi folks,

Is there anyway i could change my computer domain name after installing the Windows Server OS.
I tried the Computer Name option in System properties, but no use. I wnder if there is any other way.
Please help.........


Cheers.
__________________

swinghead is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 08:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

If you have Win2k installed you will have to demote the machine.

Else if you have Windows 2003 installed you can change it without demoting the DC. Try searching Google /MS for the steps.

--Vikas
__________________

Vikas is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 08:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d..._domrn_how.asp
Vikas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.