Change Domain name - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2005, 06:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Talking Change Domain name

hi folks,

Is there anyway i could change my computer domain name after installing the Windows Server OS.
I tried the Computer Name option in System properties, but no use. I wnder if there is any other way.
Please help.........


swinghead is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 07:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12

If you have Win2k installed you will have to demote the machine.

Else if you have Windows 2003 installed you can change it without demoting the DC. Try searching Google /MS for the steps.


Vikas is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 07:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Vikas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.