.cda to .mp3 converter - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2006, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default .cda to .mp3 converter

Hello

i wanted to convert the .cda files on my audio cd to .mp3 files.

i downloaded altomp3 GOLD5.0 and tried to convert the .cda's on my cd however it comes up with the error message

The following file(s) couldn't be added

File:H:\Tracko1.cda
Info: The file couldn't be decoded. You may need to install a decoder for it.
Please note: AltoMP3 Gold couldn't convert protected audio files.


can you guys suggest a .cda to .mp3 converter
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

cda file isn't an audio file. it the info track. windows doesn't recognize the true cd file. mac's does (it's called aiff there). you can rip a cd to mp3 though with wmp, musicmatch or winamp.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

you mean to say i dont need any software to rip cd tracks but can use windows media player to do it instead?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
you mean to say i dont need any software to rip cd tracks but can use windows media player to do it instead?
you need software like wmp. with a mac, you could just drag the file over
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 01:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

You can just use windows media player 10
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy…
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

Also make sure you set it to rip to .mp3 format or else it will rip to .wma
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy…
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

I have used WMP to rip at least 100 cd's. You can turn on the feature in the options that will find the CD info and automatically name the songs and such for you. This could save you a headache. My buddy didn't know about that and was manually naming each song/cd title.
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

Or just click "Find Album Info" after you insert a cd to rip.
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy…
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I like wmp to rip because it automatically insert the album's picture on the folder
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JohnnyX
Or just click "Find Album Info" after you insert a cd to rip.
That's the option that I was referrig to. It was turned off on mine and a couple others that I've messed with. Just throwing it out there in case they didn't know that.
__________________

brrymnvette is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.