cd writer getting detected in wrong name - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2004, 02:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Unhappy cd writer getting detected in wrong name

Hi all

the cd writer i am using belongs to samsung company, it is getting detected in device manager as 'saosung cdrw' . and isn't reading any cds.

i am using nero burn 5 and that software detects only the image recorder and not the cd writer. the drive is getting detected in the bios as 'samsung cd-rw' but in the device manager alone it is showing another name.

sometimes the drive reads cds and the folder names in the cds are read as junk values.

i dont know whether this is some hardware or software problem associated with drivers. any help would be appreciated

thank you
__________________

ramesh is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Check the cables and do a firmware upgrade.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 02:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Default

i dont think it is a problem related to cables , the drive sometimes works and even burns cds, but this happens only after several times restarting the machine.

the drive is working as a slave
ramesh is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 05:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

could be cables. I had the same problem with my HD
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 06:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

ramesh,

Few suggestions....

1) Get into safe mode, click view-> show hidden devices in device manager. Remove all the cd-rom/rw devices. Now reboot to normal mode and install your drivers for your cd-rom
2) Update your firmware if you can find one as 'major' suggested.
3) Check for the usual virii/spyware stuff...Download Hijackthis and post a log.
4) also check this link http://www.theeldergeek.com/restore_..._dvd_drive.htm
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 11:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Try a newer version of nero.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 05:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Default

i changed the cable and set the cd writer to master. now on checking the device manager i found an exclamation mark (with yellow color) beside my "primary IDE controllers (single fifo)" and "secondary IDE controller (single fifo)", I went further to check the properties where I saw "This device is either not present, not working properly or does not have all the drivers installed. {Code 10.}. I don't know what to do to get this thing off.
ramesh is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 05:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

ramesh,

What about the CD-ROM ,does it work now? Nero 5 is pretty old. Get newer version of nero. Did you try what ive posted before?
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 06:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Default

intercodes

the cd drive icon has disappeared from 'my computer' now. i did all you have posted earlier. i went to safe mode and removed the drivers and then only i got the primary and secondary IDE controller (single fifo) appearing with yellow marks in device manager.

Suggest me some way to remove that problem. my operating system is win98.
thank you

i am available in online chat in this id jr80_1112@yahoo.co.in
ramesh is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 07:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

----[ Problem solved - His Writer crapped out ] -----
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.