cd-rom activity eats 100% cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2005, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to Apx
Question cd-rom activity eats 100% cpu

When i am copying some data from cd to my hard drive my cpu is 100% and pc is almost unusable... Same thing when i am burning a cd with nero software... then even winamp starts lagging.. i wonder what is wrong with my pc because i remember that good times when on the same computer i was able to burn a cd and play hitman2 on the same time without any problems..

My pc spec:
Intel Pentium 4, Socket 478 2.8 GHz, 512 KB L2 Cache, 800 MHz (HT) (0.13u)
Asus Socket 478 P4P800 Deluxe, ATX, i865PE, FSB 800MHz, HT, UDMA100, SATA RAID 0, IDE 133 RAID 0, 1, 0+1, IEEE1394, 5.1 audio, gigabit LAN, AGP8x
2x DDRAM PC3200 512 MB 400MHz
Western Digital ATA 120GB, 7200rpm, 8MB cache
Daytona Nvidia GeForce FX5700 256MB DDR 128bit, 8xAGP, TV-out, DVI
Lite-On DVD-ROM LTD-165H, 16x 48x, retail
Lite-on CD-RW 48x24x48x
Craetive Sound Blaster Live 5.1 Digital

BTW when everything was ok i had WD SATA 160GB, 7200rpm, 8MB cache and used on board soundcard. Could creative be responsible for this?

Apx is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

maybe your software isn't updated. If they aren't updated, they will be unstable and crash.

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105

Is your computer clean of spyware, adware, and viruses?

Your cd drive may also be going bad.

If not i dont know... odd problem.
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720

I'd do a few things, all listed


PS- Also clean your temp files located @ C:\Windows\Temp, or download CCleaner, located
to do it for you in just a few easy steps.
SkyHi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.