CD/DVD Combo drive burning problems... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Default CD/DVD Combo drive burning problems...

I need help.
Basically i am trying to write music to cds, but i can't because my CD drive no longer recognizes if there is a blank CD in the drive...

In Windows Media Player, it says "insert a blank CD" even though there already is one in the drive...
I tried going to start> Run > services.msc and seeing whether the IMAPI CD Burning COM thing is on, which is wasn't, so i started it. Still nothing.

Also in My Computer, the DVD/CD-RW drive doesn't show that there is a disc inserted. I have tried different CDs and nothing...


Please help!
__________________

Athlon is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

1. Click Start, and then click Run.
2. In the Open box, type regedit, and then click OK.
3. Locate and then click the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/System/CurrentControlSet/Control/Class/{4d36e965-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
4. Click the REG_MULTI_SZ data type UpperFilters, and then click Delete on the Edit menu. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click Yes.

Note If this data type is missing, go to Method 2.
5. Click the REG_MULTI_SZ data type LowerFilters, and then click Delete on the Edit menu. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click Yes.
6. Quit Registry Editor, and then restart the computer.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 07:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Default

Thanks alot! Problem solved!!
Athlon is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 10:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

NP.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 03:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Default

Ok I'm having further problems...

I was burning an audio CD and it gets to the point where it starts to burn to disc (windows media player 11). It gets to about 17% on the first track and then it says "finalizing disc" and it says it can't do it. The CDs are fine because i just got some new CD-Rs...

Know how to sort this problem?
Athlon is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Try slowing the burning speed down. Go to the slowest speed (4X)
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 07:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Default

That will take ages

I will try anyway
Athlon is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 07:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

all it says is it cant do it? can you tell me the exact error message?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 07:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Default

I just tried to burn at the slowest speed in Windows Media Player, and the same thing happened again. I'm not sure of the exact error message because i have forgot it, but it says something like "windows cannot burn this disc make sure its clean or try a new disc" or something similar.

I have tried using Nero aswell, but that doesnt work either
Athlon is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 07:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

see if you can replicate the error message again as it will help it finding out what the problem is
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.