CD Drive Problem!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2005, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Exclamation CD Drive Problem!!!

The CD Burner stopped opening on my friends computer, so he was doing something not very smart, opening it with a paper clip while the computer was powered up, I found the same questing in the paper so I used those instructions, 1. Go to My Computer find the drive right click and hit eject (it recongised that he clicked, light went on but nothing happened) 2. Go to device manager and find it and hit remove and then reboot and it will recongise and work again, there is no remove when I right clicked in device manager. Do I disable? He also cannot burn CD's. Is it hardware?
NEED HELP!
Thanks in advance, hope you have the solution...
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Not being funny but just buy a new CD Writer. They are cheap enough these days even for a decent one. I dare say that his has seen better days and its time to get a new one.
__________________

24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

When the system is on and theres a cd in the tray, the cd is lifted up above the tray. Opening the tray will probobly break the whole drive all together and might cause damage to your whole computer.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's fixable, but you need to know what your doing, so get another one.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

Thanks that what I was thinking, their every cheap.
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Did you try to unhook everything from the drive and then see if it will open?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.