CCleaner - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2013, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
spacecadet11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 194
Smile CCleaner

Hello. The program asks me whether I want to create a back up for the registry.

#1. Why does it ask me to do that?
#2. Is there any value in doing that?
#3. What happens if I do not?

Thanks
SC
__________________

spacecadet11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: CCleaner

CCleaner deletes registry objects that it deems unnecessary/wasteful/etc.

Sometimes, those registry items may not be "unnecessary", and the deletion of those that are may do odd things to your PC. So, in case something seems not right or downright wrong with your computer after it does a cleaning, it can always restore a backup of your registry to bring any of the deleted items to rectify the problem.

If you're not familiar with the registry (or even if you are) you should probably have it make a backup (just in case).
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: CCleaner

I would tell the program not to screw with your registry at all. Sometimes it can delete things which ARE very necessary and which case you will need to reinstall Windows.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: CCleaner

Moved to Software board.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: CCleaner

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Destroyer of headlines
 
Megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Headlines
Posts: 629
Default Re: CCleaner

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I would tell the program not to screw with your registry at all. Sometimes it can delete things which ARE very necessary and which case you will need to reinstall Windows.
Exactly. CCleaner gets rid of entries that are inactive at the time of scan. That doesnt mean they are not ever used, just that at the time of the scan they are not active. Which can create issues which Joe posted a picture of. It can cause system corruption which will cause you more pain and issues than you currently have.
Megatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: CCleaner

I've used the registry clean more times than I can count, and am yet to encounter any system errors. Not saying it can't happen (obviously it can) - just that it's not something I'd be fretting over and/or avoiding the use of.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 10:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default Re: CCleaner

+1
I have used ccleaner, and wise registry cleaner on every machine I have ever build and used with no issues, since who knows how long ago. (years) I wouldn't sweat it much.

If you go to options/advanced you can uncheck the block to ask if you want o back up the registry or not. This way it won't bother you again.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 10:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: CCleaner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
+1
I have used ccleaner, and wise registry cleaner on every machine I have ever build and used with no issues, since who knows how long ago. (years) I wouldn't sweat it much.

If you go to options/advanced you can uncheck the block to ask if you want o back up the registry or not. This way it won't bother you again.
Question. Why?

A decent builder shouldn't have to use a registry cleaner at all, and a decent tech shouldn't have to use it to clean a PC either. Just my 2c.

I've cleaned up and built hundreds of PCs and have never touched a single "do it all" program like one of these.
Back in the day, these types of programs you avoided like Norton A/V. I don't get why they are so "ok" now.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: CCleaner

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
A decent builder shouldn't have to use a registry cleaner at all, and a decent tech shouldn't have to use it to clean a PC either. Just my 2c.
Eh? So how do you find obsolete registry entries? Or are you suggesting they don't matter and shouldn't be removed?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.