The case of the missing Gigabytes :confused: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2004, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Default The case of the missing Gigabytes :confused:

I know this is probably a really stupid question. But im gonna ask it anyways.

I have a 120gb harddrive, but when I check the amount of space on my c-drive the sum of the used and free space is 114.4 gigs.

I just wanna know where the extra gigs are.

Is this a case for Sherlock Holmes.???


:beard:
__________________

TeCk_N is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

All hard drives do this but usually not that much it is most of the time config files for the hard drive is this computer a dell or something because it could be there info on the 5.6 gigs
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Default

no it is not a dell. i somehow managed too build a computer by myself.

:beard:
TeCk_N is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

ok that is wierd what kind of hard drive and what verison of windows do you have other partions
mre30 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to gabe
Default Re: The case of the missing Gigabytes :confused:

Quote:
Originally posted by TeCk_N
I know this is probably a really stupid question. But im gonna ask it anyways.

I have a 120gb harddrive, but when I check the amount of space on my c-drive the sum of the used and free space is 114.4 gigs.

I just wanna know where the extra gigs are.

Is this a case for Sherlock Holmes.???


:beard:
Did you Install windows? If so, what version? Installing an operating system takes a couple of GIGs so you just kinda have to narrow it down from there. Also, a 120GB HDD isnt really a full 120GB, it is AROUND 120GB. I'd say look at your OS install, did you install the OS more than one time?

Cheers!
__________________
<b>My advise is my property. Use it at own risk.</b>
gabe is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

my maxtor 120gb, 8mb cache, ATA 133, only formats at 115gb, its normal,
windows sees every
gigabyte = 1024mb

companies adversize drives that
gigabyte = 1000mb so, the space is still there but windows says your drive is smaller. It affects larger drives more,

alright a maths lesson, get 120000, you have that many megabytes, but you think sure thats 120gb but as i said before divide it by 1024 (windows's definition of a gigabyte), you get 117.1875, plus NTFS partition takes up a bit, ........ also mabye theres a gig or so unused space but you can reclaim that unused space by getting partition magic, just use the trial coz i doubt youll need to use it more than once, but youll be lucky to get 116gb

youll be stuck with this problem for as long as computers run on 1 and 0's because of 1 and 0's, ram, formatted hdd etc are all queer sizes...
wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.