cant view jpg - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 02:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Quote:
"So since it was a brand new temp folder with nothing in it, it is a problem beyond that unfortunitly"


Temp Folder ?
You shouldn't have altered a temp folder.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

he's refering to the temp profile folder... the new one that was just created.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

benzimm86 :

Can you open a .jpg on any account on that machine ?
Are you using roaming profiles ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

have you saved the file locally and then tried to open it?
Also, can this attachement be opened by anyone else on another computer?

(I know... simular to above... sorry)
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
benzimm86 :

Can you open a .jpg on any account on that machine ?
Are you using roaming profiles ?
Well i have only tried the account thats name was changed to old and the entirly new account that was created during the logon. So i am going to say that no account can open the file.

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
have you saved the file locally and then tried to open it?
Also, can this attachement be opened by anyone else on another computer?

(I know... simular to above... sorry)
Yes i have tried to save it locally and open it. This also does not work. On a different computer, the file was opened just fine with no problems using the same programs that we tried to use on the defective machine.
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

and both machines are the same general configuration?
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 03:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

yes they both have the same general config. The computer can open other jpeg files though such as the windows sample images. Its just this file.
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 03:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

What i meant by another account was :
an entirely different user.
ex: lets say you were the one that was logged in and tried to open this pic.
I would then log you out and login with "My" account to test the OS.
sorry if that doesn't make sense... im really tired today.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 03:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

so the file errors no matter when you open it from... That is really strange. Can you check to make sure you path statements are good on that machine? Look for things like this%%systemroot%% as that is incorrect.
Also, are the updates all the same on both machines? any file version differences between mspaint.exe one one machine and another?
Look at the file type options for .jpg from the folder options menu. do you see a difference there?
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 03:45 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

i think this problem is a lost cause. There has to be something wrong with it. I forwarded the email to my boss with the attachment and the only way he could open it is to save it to his hard drive. I did not have to do that on my computer. I think we are going to just rebuild the computer. It has been having to many problems to deal with these days. Windows xp here I come.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.