cant view jpg - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 12:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default cant view jpg

On one of our computers, when the user tried to open a jped image they got as an attachment, first they had to select a program to view the image with. They selected microsoft paint and got the error below. You also cannot open it with microsoft imagine or any other program. You can open jpeg files just not this one. This file can be opened on other computer however. what might cause this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error.jpg (18.1 KB, 39 views)
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Yall are using Windows 2000 ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

Yes sir this computer is running windows 2000
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 12:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I have seen this many many times... Its a profile issue dealing with your temp dir's. There is a reg fix for this however I don't have access to it anymore. I am pretty sure you can fix this by re-building the local profile on the machine, If you can't find the reg fix. Have you checked on the Microsoft site at all for this issue ?
The rebuild of the profile will be quicker, if you want my opinion.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 12:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

How do you rebuild the local profile???
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You must either whack into the machine or login with an .adm account. Navigate to C:\Documents and Settings.
You will see the users.name as one of the folders.
You need to simply rename that folder to user.name.old.date
This will force the OS to automatically rebuild this profile.
After you rename this folder, Simply log off of the .adm acct and have the user log back in... *NOTE* the desktop will look as though this is the first time logging in to this machine.

You must remember to copy over the "My Documents", "Favorites" and "Desktop" Folders ( from the user.name.old.date ) back over to the "New" local profile after the user has logged back in with this new profile.

* Note * you need to enable the hidden files and folders.

After you get the picture to either display via Paint or MS Pic Manager you can start adding over other folders such as "Application Data" and "Local Settings" However : In side these folders is where the corruption has occured so the probability of the problem could come back by adding these 2 folders back into the new profile.

IMO - don't add the Application Data or Local Settings folders back into the New profile.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 01:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

alright well the folder that i need to do this to is a network profile folder called name.domain, for example. I logged onto the network as the administrator and to the local machine as administrator. Both times when trying to rename the folder i get an error saying:

Error renaming file or folder
Cannont rename mbill: access is denied

Make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use.


How do i get around this?
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 01:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

The machine is using the file. Download process explorer procexp and run that as an admin. Then look for a handle to the file it's referencing. once it's found, click the handle, and kill the thread.

that should do it for you.
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 01:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

On the folder you wish to rename, select the properties/security/advanced. Replace the owner of this folder to you or an admin group.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 01:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

alright well i ended up booting up in safe mode to change the file name. Then i rebooted and logged onto the network creating the new temp folder. I then, before moving any thing from teh old folder to the new folder, opened up outlook, which i had to reconfigure since the config data was no longer there. I then opened up the attachment and bam still there. I got the same error. So since it was a brand new temp folder with nothing in it, it is a problem beyond that unfortunitly. So if any one has any other ideas as to what it may be please let me know thanks to everyone that has given me info so far.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.