cant use firefox - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2005, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124
Angry cant use firefox

My grandparents computer is being bombed by porn pop ups and its all due to IE. I remove all the spyware but next week its back again. The computer is too slow to have spyware programs running constantly and the only solution is firefox. The only problem with that is my grandpa cant go and play cribbage on msn. When ever i go to the site it says
"Important Note: Your browser has not been detected as Internet Explorer.
You may view the content within this site using any client browser and you can download games to play them off-line, however; the on-line games will only work with the Internet Explorer 5.01 or later browser on Windows 98 or later operating systems."
and screws up how everything looks. Of course this is cause tis owned by microsoft, bill is evil, corperate talk over, etc... They dont want me to use firefox on there pages only their inferior prducts. Anyway around this? can I use firefox on this page at all or does the page need active x and some other things firefox misses out on? I'd gladly make my grandpa a yahoo account to play his games there but he is a bit stubborn with technology and he once thought i wrecked their computer cause msn redid their site desighn! any help is appreciated, thanks!!!

antirem is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Look through the settings. You can set it to have web sites recognize it as IE6
Look in my sig for spyware removal tools as well.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby

MSN uses activeX controls for its games (at least I think it does) and FireFox doesn't support activeX...others like Opera or Netscape might though.

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Its not 100% IE's fault...user input to keep the system clean helps out a lot...
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

you may want to see who else has access to it. Generally (unless something is downloaded via share, like edonkey and what not) the porn ads are due to visits to adult sites and "free" sample vids are downloaded which in turn install these objects. The other things that cause this are the above, use of things like edonkey, old kazaa, bit torrents, etc. The script is contained in the actual file (header???) and it puts this ad in there. I'd say, maybe neighborhood kids or something may of gotten on it (happened to my folks, turns out next door neighbor little 12 year old turd was showing my nephew, on my nephews request, some funny and adult stuff). Long story short, tell them to make sure to keep a close eye on who uses it.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 12:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 124

i really cant blame my grandfather ans say he is a porn junkie... there old people who dont want to change so i am not going to be able to teach them good search habits and stuff... got vnc on it and im running spyware killers once in a while for now.. thanks for the active x info

antirem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.