Can't turn on comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2004, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Mechablitz
Exclamation Can't turn on comp

Uhh guys can you help me? Se all I did was I scanned my comp with Norton 2005 and then changed the bootup programs in msconfig. Then i restarted my computer and tried to log on to my account it logged on showed my wallpaper and logged off. Did i do something wrong with the msconfig BTW if you guys are wondering how i'm typing this i'm using my sis's comp.

EDIT: I found someone who had the same problem as me but there aren't any solutions in that thread either. If it helps the thread is http://www.windowsforum.org/forum/in...howtopic=13332
__________________

Mechablitz is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

start in safe mode, change your msconfig back to normal
__________________

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 03:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default


Mechablitz,

Norton always screw stuff [in particular the AV kit] .msconfig has nuthing to do with your problem . Even if you disable everything you can still have the system online. Yea, try going into safe mode, uncheck any new entries, possibly created by norton [ i guess]. Then try to restart.

If that doesnt work, remove norton completely from safe mode and reboot. Else try system restore as your last option.

BTW, did you have any virii/spyware before you installed and scanned with Norton? [any idea]

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 09:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Mechablitz
Default

Sorry but those solutions don't work. What I mean is that when I click on my account it logs on, shows my wallpaper and than logs off again. I can't access anything on the computer even when I restart in safe mode.
Mechablitz is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 09:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Throw it out the window
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Lightbulb Final solutions..

Mechablitz,

Start: Jmp step 1

1) use windows Xp repair disk to repair your system. doesnt work?

2) Use the windows Xp cd to reinstall your notorious OS.doesnt work?

3) use windows xp cd to format the system completly and install OS.

4) stop

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Mechablitz
Default Intercodes' post

I guess that's the only solution becuase my uncle told me to repair my XP. But if that doesn't work then i'm hopeless becuase I have really important files on my comp. Does anyone know how I can access my msconfig without logging into an account? Thanks
Mechablitz is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default


Mechablitz,

Quote:
I can't access anything on the computer even when I restart in safe mode.
What exactly cant you access? Does it login into safe mode?

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 12:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Mechablitz
Default

What happens is that when I restart in safemode it shows a list of all the users on my comp plus the "Administrator". Then I click on one of the users and it logs in as usual. It starts to show the wallapaper but then it logs off again and it shows the list of users.
Mechablitz is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 12:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Thumbs down runnin' outta ideas ..

Mechablitz,

There is no way to access the msconfig or registry from DOS. SO I dont think you can edit without logging into a windows session.
And btw, repairing your system with XP doesnt affect your data or the apps. So try 'repair' . If 'repair' doesn work , backup your data to another drive [ remove , connect it to another computer ] and resinstall the OS.
I guess ,there are no more solutions to be offered. Anyone, correct me if iam wrong...

__________________

intercodes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.