cant remove - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2004, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default cant remove

hi there..
when ever I go onto internet explorer I get lots of different kinds pop ups saying I have spyware and click on there link to delete it... but I dont think it is spyware because when i download things to delete spyware at downloads.com they dont go away. one of them says..........

title:Warning

WARNING

your computer has been exposed to parasites known as spyware.
Spyware monitors and transmits personal information about your online activities and is A SERIOUS VIOLATION OF YOUR PRIVACY.
Spyware can be EASILY DETECTED AND REMOVED with a free spyware scanner avaiable for download at the link below.

>>>CLICK HERE TO KILL SPYWARE NOW<<<

it never goes away!!!!!
any clue wut this is and how can I delete it?

signed,
needs lots of help.(lol)
__________________

u8mypaygoo is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Don't ever trust those!!

Use Ad-aware, here
or Spy bot S&D, here...

they should take care of most/all of the junk. Most of those popups your clicking on are most likely ads/spyware...:-/

-X
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

sounds like ur getting alot of pop-ups. if u sure that you don't have any spyware on your computer, just download a pop-up blocker.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default

xula:I dont click on those links they serve me.. I would never trust things that pop-up only if they are allowed.

xotix:i'm pretty sure I have spyware on my computer.. cuz my computer's been running really slow.. for example.. I have windows XP Pro upgraded on my hp which origanal OS was ME.ok so.. when I turn on my comp it takes about one minute to the blue "welcome" screen.. then it goes to my background which stays there for about 2minutes, then my icons pop -up then after half a minute my computer is done starting up. it takes it nearly 4 minutes to completly finish turning on.
u8mypaygoo is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default

P.S i'm using SpyDoctor to delete some unwanted files.. hope it can find spyware someday so I can delte it.(installed it today..august 18,04)
u8mypaygoo is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

use spybot S&D and adaware, u hafta use both, one will find what the other didnt, and vice versa. They are the best antispyware. And get an antivirus, i recommend avg, its free and reliable
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default

I guess ill try adaware and spybot S&D.. for the AV im using McAfee.. it kinda sucx
u8mypaygoo is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

is it possible for u to do a fresh install??
me is full of problems.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

ok 1st, get rid of macafee NOW its crap. avg is good. and if it doesnt bother you, making a fresh install of windows will do much good to u and ur pc.
To be shur ur hds will be clean, take them out of ur pc, and put them in an other one, if u do, and reformat them there, then put them back in your pc, and install windows.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 12:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default

where can I get ad-aware for free??
__________________

u8mypaygoo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.