cant reinstall OS, error showing up! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2008, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Exclamation cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

READ THE WHOLE FIRST POST PLEASE!

this is the error showing up after constant reformatting, moving HDD to differ computer for deleting stuff, putting back, etc:

"Windows installation encountered an unexpected error......"

File: PCIIDEX.SYS

Status: OxcOOOO221

Info: Windows failed to load because a required file is missing, or corrupt.

ok, so i restart the computer to reinstall or repair the computer, but all that comes up is an anomyous error thing that i cant get passed, which leads me to taking the HDD out, put it into another computer, clear it as much as i can, put it back in my computer, format it again, n do reinstallation. I cant do repair because another error shows up after i delete stuff off my HDD.

backstory of why im reinstalling: After i updated my BIOS from 1.1 to 1.3 AND reactivating Windows, my sound card wasnt working, unless i use the HD Audio Front Panel. I let some viruses through Kaspersky, thinking the software wasnt letting me update my sound card driver. After that, everything like Windows Explorer, sidebar, internet, etc gets closed out automatically. Turns out i couldnt find viruses because i had no access to my network n i couldnt change anything with my network. I did get rid of some viruses but the critical ones were messing with my network n such. I was able to go onto the internet through a public network, even though i have that option off. Did a hijackthis log, posted it, but couldnt deal with the problem anymore! So i backed up all the files that were important to me that i didnt want to lose, deleted what i can off another computer, n reinstall Windows Vista Ultimate.

now the error i get doesnt show up until AFTER it says during set up, "Completed Installation". The computer restarts, ok cool, then after waiting after the disk is booting, the screen goes black as if it froze n stays that way. I reset, reads off the disk, then the error thing shows up, went gray n black showing what file is missing, etc. Like i said, the start up wont show up again for me to repair it, which is wierd n has that anomyous error show up asking to restart installation, then brings up that message over n over when i reset the computer.

anyone have any idea what i did wrong?? I got customer service number here too, but i felt like bringing the problem here first. Also, im on Wii, btw.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

Wow. How did you clean the drive? Did you format it with another tool? Like a GParted LiveCD or somethign like that? It sounds as if there are some bad area on that drive and a check disk is in order.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Wow. How did you clean the drive? Did you format it with another tool? Like a GParted LiveCD or somethign like that? It sounds as if there are some bad area on that drive and a check disk is in order.
i took it out, put it in another computer, that computer read it, n then i just started to delete stuff that i could delete. This was the only way for me to get the installation setup to work again on my computer. Whatever was there in my HDD, i was able to format it. It said like 232.9GB capacity, 232.8GB free space. I hooked back on the other computer to see what was still on it n nothing was. Remember, the installation setup has a format button n i used that on it n another HDD in case i dont get this one working.

i am thinking that since i flashed BIOS from 1.1 to 1.3 n after reactivating Windows, my BIOS stays at 1.3, thus my installation doesnt recognize it. That is my guess.

EDIT:

my OS is an OEM product; says in my sig.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

I have flashed my BIOS several time since i installed XP and VIsta. Nothing like this has happened to me. That should not have a effect on if the disk sees the drive or nto or if it will install to it.

My suggestion right now is put it back into the other system and run a check disk on it to make sure there are no bad sectors.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

load up gparted and completely wipe the partition?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
I have flashed my BIOS several time since i installed XP and VIsta. Nothing like this has happened to me. That should not have a effect on if the disk sees the drive or nto or if it will install to it.

My suggestion right now is put it back into the other system and run a check disk on it to make sure there are no bad sectors.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
load up gparted and completely wipe the partition?
gparted? Is it free? I'll do that tonight.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

yup, just download ubuntu.. and you can run the os from the cd.. just start up gparted and wipe the hdd.. i had a very similar problem
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 11:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

Mirrors

That should just give you GParted the LiveCD.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 12:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
yup, just download ubuntu.. and you can run the os from the cd.. just start up gparted and wipe the hdd.. i had a very similar problem
oh no no no no no, my dad would hate that, asking questions n crap of y im downloading an OS when i dont have a computer to run on etc etc.

there must be another way or something else i can use!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Mirrors

That should just give you GParted the LiveCD.
lol i fail to understand it. Guide me on this one. Does it require Ubuntu? I'm gonna be using a XP Pro PC.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 12:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: cant reinstall OS, error showing up!

no.. its just a cd you have to burn you put it in, and it'll play upon boot.. don't need an os installed..

don't need an os installed to use ubuntu either...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to reinstall an O/S RyanWhitell Laptops and Notebooks 9 03-10-2008 10:28 PM
BF2142 reinstall breaks Windows Cunjo Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-24-2008 05:16 PM
Getting back online after a reinstall. Gr8 Justafa Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 12-16-2007 02:22 PM
Lotus Notes - reinstall markhill Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-09-2007 05:40 AM
Can't reinstall a game (that failed during install) Shafra Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-04-2007 03:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.