Can't Play AVI files - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2004, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Angry Can't Play AVI files

I downloaded this video clip and I got the error: " Error downloading codecs." Then I followed some advice and got DivX Player it plays the sound but the image is garbled and I can't see it.

HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________

ajam is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Download Nimo, ACE or Indeo codec pack, install it and see what happens.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

ajam,

Yup, thats a codec problem. Download this http://ftp.isu.edu.tw/pub/Windows/so...EMCP601PRO.exe

intercodes is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 01:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lrr
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
Default

use this codec pack it shuld be what you need http://www.free-codecs.com/Codec_download.htm

and this is i better player then 'divx player' cant beat it
http://www.free-codecs.com/Media_Pla...c_download.htm
Lrr is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 09:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Yeah, I used to have problems trying to figure out what programs use what codecs, and installing individual codecs or substandard codec packs.

The people who made the Kazaa Lite (Kazaa minus ads and spyware) put together a wonderful codec pack. This thing has 2 media players (BSplayer and Media Player Classic) and lets you play Divx, Xvid, Ogg, DVD (you gotta have a DVD drive though), Real, and Quicktime. And a bunch of others, too.

The downside is, it's almost 20MB. But this thing, you install it, and all your problems just go away. Check back with them, too, they release updates every now and then. Right now it's on 1.16 and that's what my computers run.

If you have dialup, you can look up the regular K-Lite Codec Pack. It doesn't include Media Player Classic (which is a good player) or support for Real or Quicktime. I think they even have a lite version for playback only (the others support encoding as well). Or you can look up the program Gspot (included with the Mega Codec Pack) and it'll tell you what codec an AVI file needs, just open it with Gspot.

Freeware codec pack, loads of good stuff, no problems whatsoever, only worry is the size if you're on dialup. If not, what are you waiting for?

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/...Codec_Pack.htm
__________________

My computer:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939
1024MB Dual Channel DDR400 Corsair XMS with LED activity indicators
256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-E by Chaintech
Aspire X-Navigator case with 500W PSU, 6x80mm fans, 1x120mm fan
Gigabyte nForce4/PCI-E S939 mobo
80GB 7200MB 8MB WD IDE HDD
16X DVD¬ĪR Dual Layer burner
Memory card read/writer
...and a Led Zeppelin sticker!
Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Don't use Windows Media Player for this! Windows Media Player is rubbish.I use Winamp.
__________________
<img src=\"http://www.90minut.pl/logo/world/clubs/eng_mu.gif\"0\" alt=\"\"><font
<center><marquee width=60%><font face=\"verdana\" size=\"1\" color=\"#000000\" style=\"filter: glow(color=#ffcc00,strength=2); width: 100%;padding:3px\";>Manchester United-THE RED DEVILS!
Who\'s that team they call United?, Who\'s that team they all adore? They\'re the boys in red and white And they play with all their might,And they\'re out to show the world how they can score! So bring on Sunderland and Arsenal, Bring on Spaniards by the score, Barcelona, Real Madrid, They may make a gallant bid, But they\'ll only find the reason why we roar.
</marquee></center>
AlexRider_MI6 is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Or use AVIPreview. It plays a lot of files Winamp and WMP don't.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AlexRider_MI6
Don't use Windows Media Player for this! Windows Media Player is rubbish.I use Winamp.
not to mention Windows Media Player (and window messenger) is a snitch to microsoft
EricB is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 11:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Upgrage to DirectX 9.0c !!!!!
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.