Can't Log-in to XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2007, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default Can't Log-in to XP

Well I went to start up my computer this morning and everything was going smoothly until the log-in screen for XP except nothing comes up (I have it set to the classic log-in style). Not even the mouse. It's just a blue screen.

I restarted numerous times, but to no avail. The only thing that I can do is start it in safe mode but then when I tell it to restart, same thing.

Any help would be appreciated. I really don't want to reformat either because I have 2 5-page papers that I couldn't turn in today because of this, and I don't have another copy.
__________________

__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

copy them in safe mode then do a system restore
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
copy them in safe mode then do a system restore
How would I go about a system restore?
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

boot from install disk, and select restore instead of install
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fixal0t
boot from install disk, and select restore instead of install
Will I still have all of my documents and stuff?
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default

You will still have all of your documents and files, but you may not have some programs that were installed after your restore point.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Go into setup like you are going to install windows but choose repair. Dont choose the first repair option you see. pretend like you are going to install a fresh copy of xp and then choose the repair option instead of install windows.
__________________

__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.