Can't Log In To Win XP (Home) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 04:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default Can't Log In To Win XP (Home)

I am in Iraq and trying to help a friend in TX. Two days ago he booted his computer after shutting it down for the night. It booted to the Win XP User Log In screen. After inputing his password, the computer doesn't get any further than that. There are three different users and all have the same problem with no longer being able to log in. The computer is a year old Gateway running Win XP Home. Any ideas of how to work around this problem? Thanks
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

Have your friend restart XP in safe mode (F8 before you see the windows splash screen) Once the computer boots have your friend try and log on using his regular user name. If that doesn’t work try logging on as Administrator. If this doesn’t work I would have him repair XP using the recovery console if Gateway included the OEM CD. (Some companies only give you a ghost image to work with and don't include the actual Windows CD).

-GrayWolf
__________________

GrayWolf is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Thanks GrayWolf, that is exactly what I suggested to him when I found out his problem. Also told him that if it works, to go to a restore point that is a few days before the problem began. Haven't heard from him if it worked or not.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

System Restore solved the problem.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

Another problem is that hes Running windows... Microsoft just has a thing with being "user friendly" ... it does stuff so fast so that you dont know when u screw up your computer... Unlike Linux where u have to know wtf ur inputting to do ne thing... I hate Microsoft and all there apps... grr ;/
BoobieSrUs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.