Can't load Windows after driver update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2004, 08:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Can't load Windows after driver update

I just got my new computer a few days ago and I've been downloading the usual drivers, updates etc. for it. The graphics card is GeForce 6800 GT, so I downloaded the latest driver (61.77) from www.nvidia.com. This worked perfectly until I found out there were further "updates" - and the stupidity of what I did should become apparent now - located here: http://3dchipset.com/drivers/beta/nvidia/nt5/index.php.

Following the flimsy advice that I found on another forum site, I went for the 62.20 download. I can't remember precisely when things went wrong after this, but I think the next two or three restarts were successful.

The current situation is: I switch on the computer - it gets as far as the screen where it says Windows did not start successfully. There is a 30 second timer counting down, and the options are:

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Networking
Safe Mode with Command Prompt
Last Known Good Configuration
Start Windows Normally

The first three options start a series of lines down the screen which read "multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS\Syste m32\DRIVERS\" and then after "DRIVERS" there will be a *.sys file, e.g. ACPI.sys. After the last line the computer freezes.

"Last Known Good Configuration" makes the screen go black and it stays like that. "Start Windows Normally" freezes the screen, including the timer, and it stays like that. The only options from here are the power on/off or reset buttons.

I'm perfectly happy to erase all data on the machine and start again, but I can't seem to do that either. It came with XP Pro already installed, and I have an XP Home disc. Putting the XP Home disc in and pressing the reset button brings up the option to boot from CD. After a minute of "Loading..." various things in the bar at the bottom if the screen, it says "Loading Windows" and freezes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If it helps, the CPU temperature is reported on the screen as rising to 65°C, which strikes me as very hot but I wouldn't know.




P.S. I admit that I only registered on this site to get my question answered. This is very selfish and I should apologise for this - unfortunately, I don't know enough to be able to contribute to others' questions.
__________________

NetSquirrel is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to gabe
Default

Well, if this is a result of your driver installation then you need to uninstall it. You can select Safe Modem W/Networking and uninstall the driver that way, after that everything should be okay. If not, since its a new install, I'd reformat and start over.

Cheers!
__________________

__________________
<b>My advise is my property. Use it at own risk.</b>
gabe is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

Well I would contact the comptuer manufact for a windows xp pro cd. Do you happen to have a windows 98 boot up disc if so I would format the drive that way and then try to install windows xp home
mre30 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Gabe, I wish I could follow your advice all the way through, but when I select any of the first three options (Safe Mode / SM with Networking / SM with Command Prompt) I get the "...WINDOWS\System
32\DRIVERS..." messages (I have taken a photo of this but I don't know how to attach the file to this post). In short, none of the on-screen options fails to freeze up the computer at this stage.

Mre30, luckily my friend has a 98 disc which I should be able to borrow tomorrow. I will try that as the next step - hopefully it will have a better chance of working than my XP Home disc.

As a long shot, I went to www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm and followed the links to creating boot discs for Windows XP Pro, XP Pro + SP1, and XP Pro + SP2. These link to areas of Microsoft.com where I downloaded the three respective boot disk-making programs. Six floppy dscs are required for each, which, once written to, I inserted one at a time into the broken machine as required. None of the three sets of six discs worked (system froze twice, and complained of a corrupt disc once). I was hoping this method would have let me format c:\ at least, but no luck.


Edit:

P.S. Mre30, am I looking for delpart.exe on the 98 CD?
NetSquirrel is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 12:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Using a downloaded Windows 98 boot disc, I have now formatted the hard drive, but this hasn't solved the problem. On booting up, the screen eventually displays:

Quote:
Primary Master: SATA Device Not Found
Primary Slave: Device Not Found
Secondary Master: SATA Device Not Found
Secondary Slave: Device Not Found

No RAID Install!
I have a floppy disc that came with the computer labelled "Sis180 RAID Controller Driver". Pressing F6 during the setup sequence of my XP Home CD prompts me to insert this disc in order to install the RAID drivers (or something like that). This doesn't work - it still comes up with "Setup is Loading Windows..." and freezes up. So I'm back to square one.
NetSquirrel is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

So it won't let you use the raid drivers either this is starting to sound like a comuter maufactures mistake. I would say try a different windows xp cd if you have one
mre30 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 03:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

is your HDD a SATA? I believe you have special drivers needed for this (motherboard chipset). When during the install press F5 (I think thats the function key number)
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 03:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

Yeah f5 is the fuction key
mre30 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 04:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Unhappy

Pressing F5 brought up a new screen that looks promising:

Quote:
Setup could not determine the type of computer you have, or you have chosen to manually specify the computer type.

Select the computer type from the following list, or select "Other" if you have a device support disk provided by your computer manufacturer.

• Standard PC with C-Step i486
• Other
I selected "Other", which causes:

Quote:
Please insert the disk labeled

Manufacturer-supplied hardware support disk

Into drive A:
This time, it is rejecting the SIS180 floppy disc ("The disk you have supplied does not provide any relevant support files"). Would it be a good idea to attempt to download and create a suitable disc for it to use, or perhaps even ask for one from the manufacturer?

P.S. I do not have any other XP discs, but I might possibly be able to borrow one in the next few days.
NetSquirrel is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 07:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

yep, get a good disk with the chipset drivers on it.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.