Can't Install IE On Win2000 SP4 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 01:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

I called SBC and went through entering the IP address and everything and it still didn't work. All I can go is find my gateway and modem IP address by using the ipconfig command in a DOS prompt - somehow I don't actually get on the web, just to my modem?...

It's really strange - if I hook the ethernet up to my xbox, it works, hook it up to my computer, nothing.
__________________

patrickc284 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

In DOS Prompt I used the ping command and nslookup commaned for 64.233.1167.147. Using the ping command, all four packets were sent and received. With the nslookup command, homeportal.gateway.2wire.net said it couldn't find google because it was a non-existant domain.

What's the deal with that?
__________________

patrickc284 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

Add/Remove Programs isn't under Control Panel for some reason...I listed it alphabetically so I know I'm not just missing it. I googled this problem and came up empty.
patrickc284 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

I missed your earlier post where you said to type ipconfig /all.

It says:

Windows 2000 IP Configuration
Node Type - Broadband
IP Routing Enabled - No
WINS Proxy Enabled - No
DNS Suffix Search List - gateway.2wire.net

Ethernet Adapter Local Connection
Connection Specific DNS Suffix - gateway.2wire.net
Description - Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Ethernet
Physical Address - (should i display this on the web?)
DHCP Enabled - Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled - Yes
IP Address - 176.16.36.1
Subnet Mask - 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway - 176.16.0.1
DHCP Server - 176.16.0.1
DNS Servers - 176.16.0.1
Lease Obtained - (Today) 6:46PM
Lease Expires - (Today) 7:46PM
patrickc284 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Boot to disk and perform the Install Then the Repair.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

More info:

"obtain an IP address automatically" and "obtain DNS server address automatically" under TCP/IP under Local Area Connection are both checked.

Both computers are hooked up to a DSL modem (a 2Wire Home Portal 1000HW).

ping google.com has all four packets received,

nslookup google.com gets the response,
Server: homeportal.gateway.2wire.net
Address: 172.16.0.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: google.com
Addresses: 72.14.207.99, 64.233.187.99
patrickc284 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Did you get your Internet Explorer running ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

did you disconnect the router and just hook it up to one computer?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

post a picture of your modem. is it a combo router and modem?

those ip weren't internet connecting ip's
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 06:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to patrickc284
Default

Internet Explorer is not running - I'm about 95% sure now that I have a bootleg copy of Windows 2000. It has no holograms of any sort - which the Microsoft website says should be numerous among other things.....
__________________

patrickc284 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.