Can't Install Adobe Reader on Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2007, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default Can't Install Adobe Reader on Vista

Maybe others came to this problem also if you try to install Adobe Reader on Vista.

I downloaded it off a site and tried to install it. Comes up an error that there may not be enough space in my Temp folder or on my harddrive, make space and make sure I have permission to write in the folder.

Well, I tried this on the Administrator account and I have about 60Gigs of space on said hard-drive so why wouldn't it let me install? I just installed Vista a few days ago so it's not like I went around changing stuff
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

To install Adobe Reader on Vista you MUST have the UAC ON. If you have it turned off turn it baqck on and reset then it will isntall.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 11:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

Ah thanks a lot man! Nice to have you around here, I'll have to go try that.

The thing is, I don't find myself to be computer illiterate if thats the correct way to put it, I mean, I look at myself in the computer world to be 'average - to - above average' ... ... so for all those average families out there, don't you think their having a really hard time or will be having a hard time with Vista? Then again, they probably wouldn't even know how to turn off UAC.

Ah well though, new O/S, new learning experiences
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Vista will be a bit of a learning curve. But overall it is more secure and some of the measures taken (UAC) are better in the long run. So while it is tough it is for the better.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 11:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

not sure if this will help you any...BUT

I use this...Foxit pdf reader

http://www.foxitsoftware.com/pdf/rd_intro.php

extremely efficient...fast and unbloated. Great for if you just want to read pdfs...completely free.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Vista will be a bit of a learning curve. But overall it is more secure and some of the measures taken (UAC) are better in the long run. So while it is tough it is for the better.
Sorry if this is a bit of a noobish question but what is UAC?
Giles is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

user account control

you can find out more on the web or just by typing that into your windows help search
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

User Account Control is a new feature in Vista that asks for permission for a file to run. So if you try to install a application's it will ask for Admin permission to install.

This helps prevent "Drive-by" installs of spy ware, malware and viruses. What i mean by that is from sites that try to exploit Internet Explorer's Active X controls and install software that is damaging. It is good but it can be very annoying at times as well.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

I don't have Vista that's probaly why I didn't know about it.
Giles is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 03:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
User Account Control is a new feature in Vista that asks for permission for a file to run. So if you try to install a application's it will ask for Admin permission to install.

This helps prevent "Drive-by" installs of spy ware, malware and viruses. What i mean by that is from sites that try to exploit Internet Explorer's Active X controls and install software that is damaging. It is good but it can be very annoying at times as well.
"It can be very annoying at times as well..."

And thats why I turned it off.
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.