Can't get into my user account on WinXP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2006, 01:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Can't get into my user account on WinXP

My user account somehow became unstable and I can't get into it. I need to know how to fix it since the "My Documents" folder is only accesible from my account. Plus I had it set up the way I liked it.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 02:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

there are hacks you can use to get the (sam?) file with the password (i assume thats what you mean or is your system simply unstable..?)

Also, do you have the "guest" enabled?

is it pro or home?

do you see the "welcome screen" when you log in?

if all else fails, a good reformatting could work... however i can empethise with you in how you wouldn't want to lose your files (like the all the simpsons episodes....)
__________________

__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 02:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I have the password and the login screen does come up. But when I try to login it says a file may have become unstable and this account cannot be accessed.

I have a guest account and even a backup admin account that I can get into.

It is WinXP Pro
dario03 is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 03:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 80
Default

try reinstall whole windows XP
__________________
Be Legal
ubeyou is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 03:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

or delete the account and re make it
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 06:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Go into Safe Mode. Reset your password for that account. Then try logging back on to that account. See if that does anything for you.

I had that issue before and that solved my problem. Hope it works for you too.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

LOL. A simple system restore point from yesterday fixed everything.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.