can't get into D: drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2005, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Unhappy can't get into D: drive

It is complex to mention, through, here it goes: my system was using a 40* drive, and during a corruption, i decided to use a slave drive, which is around 6*, to boot into windows, so i can get the things in the 40gb's drive back, but i think i have deleted some file in the 40*'s drive, but it don't seemed obvious at first, just the icon has changed into something like a unknown file(it was originally look like a drive) then, i decided to buy another bigger drive which is 80*, and now installed as primary master and the 40gb switched from a master to a slave, now, when i boot in from the 80gb drive and have no access to that 40* drive, which stored all of my previous files, when i double click on it, it showed me this message:windows cannot find setupSNK.exe. this program is needed for the opening files of type'File'. Type in the executable file to be used instead:. and it prompt me to enter a path for this file. Can anyone please tell me where sould i get this file or how can i use it to get back my old file or if anyway i can get back in to my previous 40gb drive? Thanks in advence!

gohand is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105

ofcourse there is!
ok so u got this drive as a back up? and it read its. try this:
right click start -> explore -> locate your D drive and try to see your files from there.

also do you have SP2?

I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 05:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151

yes! i can locate it now, just by typing the letter from the directory, (now i do have sp2) but even without sp2 i can go in thanks
gohand is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.