Can't extract files - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2004, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Default Can't extract files

I use my start up disk and pick use with cd support. I use the extract tool and try to extract two dll files off the windows me cd. The thing is when it scans the cd it can't find either one of these dll files. I checked the cd and the two files are listed so why does it say no matching files after it scans the cd?
__________________

jimb11 is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

what are you trying to do, install winME? by extract tool you mean manually locate files because the winME installation program cannot find these files and giving you errors?

if so maybe you should try to use a different newer cd-rom/ dvd-rom drive to install it or if you have a burnt copy the copy was made badly. or CD is scratched
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Default

I can't open my network tool in control panel so I want to extract two dll files from my windows me cd. I think the two dll files on my computer may be damaged so that's why I want to extract them from the cd. The thing is when the extract tool in the start up disk runs a scan of the cd it tells me that there is no matching files for the dll files that I need. I don't know why they can't be found.
jimb11 is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 10:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Talking about netdi and netos?
Let me know what .CAB file they are in and I'll grab them for you, zip them up and place them as an attachment on my next post.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Default

Hi Mike:

Yes they are the ones and are in precopy1 cab file. Do you have any idea why I can't extract them off of my own windows cd?
jimb11 is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 12:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Thats really strange....I dunno
I'm just exploring the CD and using winace to extract the files from the cab file.

It's a file that too big to attach here....can I email it to you?

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 12:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Default

Yes you can: jimb949@hotmail.com
jimb11 is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Ok, I sent it. Hope it helps!

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 01:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks Mike!
jimb11 is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 01:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Default

Anyone know where I can get a free replacement windows me cd?
__________________

jimb11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.