Can't delete this folder - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2005, 03:23 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 31
Default

But it doesn't say it's in use, it says it cannot find the file (its a folder)
I think it's cause the folder is named with a "." at the end. Aren't folder's not allowed to have a "." at the end? I tried renaming, doesnt work.
__________________

Xx Da Twig xX is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 06:19 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=320081
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 07:45 PM   #23 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it look like he might have to delete that file with a knoppix cd

http://www.kernel.org/pub/dist/knopp...5-05-27-EN.iso

just boot from the cd. it will run linux without installing linux on your computer. open that folder and delete it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 07:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Check the properties of the folder. Maybe theres some clues.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 01:11 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

have you tried renaming the folder to something else, then delete it? I had some problems with files I downloaded with insanly strange names. To fix/remove them, they had to be renamed through dos as windows would crash when trying it. Might be worth trying, that is if you have not already.

Something else is a script I created for doing this... link to come...

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...483#post481483
This is for removing a file. This is a folder, right? ... so if you want, I can do one for removing the directory. Just let me know...

Perl has a nice little module for removing dirs.
Code:
use File::Path;

$path = "C:\\Documents and settings\\roy\\desktop\\new folder\\music\\misc\\2pac\\";
@folders = qx(dir $path /a:d /b /s);
print "@folders\n";
install the perl program listed in the post link above.
Then copy the code above to a text file and save it as Dir_Scan.pl
open a cmd window, click and drag the Dir_Scan.pl file into it and then press enter while in the window. This should incremenet the folders on screen. Post the screen shot.

good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 12:19 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 31
Default


nothing happens, I double click the .pl file and a cmd window pops up and closes.

@EricB - I can't seem to boot from disc with my laptop. The CD-ROM is already above the HD, I even set it to the top, yet it still doesn't boot from the CD. I hope I burned it right, when I put it in, it autoruns so I think I did it right.

This folder is driving me crazy!
Xx Da Twig xX is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 12:36 AM   #27 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

did you use nero or alcohol or roxio to burn that disc as an image disc?

with nero, open it (the burning rom part) cancel that first screen, then click recorder, select burn from disc image option, find the .iso file, then burn.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Ok, I burned it again and now the CD works, but it takes FOREVER to start it up. My computer must've had a blank screen for 30 min! So I just quit with it.
Xx Da Twig xX is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 07:28 PM   #29 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xx Da Twig xX
Ok, I burned it again and now the CD works, but it takes FOREVER to start it up. My computer must've had a blank screen for 30 min! So I just quit with it.
did you hit enter when it say return. if your computer is fairly new, it might not recognize the hardwae
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 07:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Yea, my computer's pretty new. HP Pavilion zv6000 (notebook) I think it's the latest pavilion notebook model, I'm not too sure about that, and there's no point in looing it up.
__________________

Xx Da Twig xX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.