can't connect to internet after Norton install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2006, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default can't connect to internet after Norton install

I ugraded my Grandmother's Norton Antivirus 2004 with Norton Internet Security 2006 on her PC running Windows XP. Immediatly after Norton ran it's update and system scan I was unable to connect to the internet or receive or send email. I was able to prior to running the update. She has a dial up connection, it would connect but wasn't able to use IE at all. I went through the tech support with the ISP and all was set good on that end. I thought maybe it was Norton so I uninstalled, but still can't connect. Please do you have any ideas?? Thanks
__________________

lenajones is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

try the winsock fix http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

can I save this download to a disk? I can't get on the internet with the troubled computer. Thanks for your response.
lenajones is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

when it installed, did it ask you about blocking anything?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Default

Your should be able to download winsockxpfix.exe to
a floppy disk as long as the floppy disk is blank to
begin with. It will take almost all of the available
disk space.
ramdge is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 08:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks all, I saved it to a CD and now have to wait until the weekend before I can get to Gram's to try it out.
__________________

lenajones is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.