Can't change background - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2005, 08:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default Can't change background

Hi. I just recently tried to attemp to remove the AntiVirusGold ad that was on my desktop (removing link led to their website). I got to the point where I could remove the ad, but now my background is black. When i right-click and hit property, all I can see is screen saver and settings as far as tabs. Take a look for yourself:

On the other accounts on my computer, they are able to change the desktop. What file am I missing? What can I do? Thank you.

gsteg is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:

Did you tweak your registry at all...?


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87

Yes I did (to get rid of the malware), but I couldn't use this before touching the registry either. If it indeed has a missing registry file, how do I get it back?
gsteg is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 09:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

You should have just used spyware cleaning software. I recommend you use a registry cleaner to fix any broken registry vaules you left and install new backrounds.
<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87

I've used all other spware removal tool and they couldn't get it out. I had to edit the registry though an instruction I got in another forum. It did get the spyware out, but its just one of the Windows user account that couldn't have its background set. I will look into the windows registry cleaner. Thanks
gsteg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.