Can't boot from XP cd - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2006, 08:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

@ EricB: Maybe your post was accidentally deleted? I can't find it here.

Anyway, I'm going to try the boot floppy solution tonight.

Edit: Disk 3 gives the error "Halaacpi.dll could not be loaded. Error code is 4."

Help!
__________________

jcmoral is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 01:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcmoral
@ EricB: Maybe your post was accidentally deleted? I can't find it here.

Anyway, I'm going to try the boot floppy solution tonight.

Edit: Disk 3 gives the error "Halaacpi.dll could not be loaded. Error code is 4."

Help!
I was talking about other people that posted this question before. you might have a virus stuck in your memory or maybe MS put something there (they did it to me once when I lost my serial to mce and used a bootleg serial)

1.unplug your hard drives and ram.

2.turn on computer. it won't boot but should beep. turn it off

3.repeat 2. doing this will clear the ram

4. hook ram and hdd back up. boot for the powermax cd (in my signature) and do not boot from the hdd (doing so will stick the virus back) and wipe it clean (it can delete bootsector viruses. the windows cd can't)

now install windows. if this doesn't work you have a screwed up cd rom drive
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Had to copy some files from the XP CD onto floppy disk 3. Also had to copy autochk.exe onto another floppy. XP up and running. If it happens again I'll backup some files and take Eric B.'s advice. Thanks everyone!
__________________

jcmoral is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.